Checkerboard Headband

I’m trying my hand at designing, but I want to start with small things.  For now, headbands are the perfect thing to design.  Also while working out, sweat had been dripping into my eyes, and I always think a cotton headband would be brilliant.  This headband is knit in a  basketweave pattern with a seed stitch border.

Here’s the pattern:

Cotton Worsted weight yarn, I used Rowan Handknit Cotton

US 6/ 4 mm knitting needles.  I used 2 DPN’s as straight needles.

CO 10 Sts

Begin pattern as follows:

Row 1: K1, P1, K3, P3, K1, P1

Row 2: P1, K4, P4, K1

Repeat rows 1 and 2 once more, 4 rows total.

Row 3: K1, P4, K4, P1

Row 4: P1, K1, P3, K3, P1, K1

Repeat rows 3 and 4 once more, 8 total rows from cast on edge.

Repeat these 2 sequences until headband is desired length to fit snugly around your head.  Mine was 16″.

Bind off and seam 2 ends together or you could pick up stitches on the other end and use 3 needle bind off.

6 Comments

Filed under knitting

6 responses to “Checkerboard Headband

  1. I didn’t understand most of that, but your headband is very cute!

  2. Edwin

    Very Cool!! I will make some for my great nieces.

  3. Sandra Gaskill

    I need this for Zumba class. Hope I can do it. Thanks, Sandra

  4. This is exactly what I was looking for. Perfect for a novice knitter like myself. The results were lovely. Thank you for sharing this pattern.

  5. Pingback: Sandra gaskill | Pixsimple

Leave a Reply

