February’s Crochet Challenge

johnsie4:

I was recently involved in a community afghan making project. It was incredibly satisfying and inspiring. What a simple and effective way to help out. This blog is asking crocheters to donate 1 granny square a month to make blankets for charity. Granny squares are so easy and my favorite thing to crochet. I’m really excited to have found this blog.

Originally posted on CROCHET GRANNY SQUARES OF LOVE:

“Love only grows by sharing. You can only have more for yourself by giving it away to others.”
― Brian Tracy

A few of the beautiful granny squares that were donated.

A few of the beautiful granny squares that were donated.

Once again, we are in need of granny squares to stitch together to make afghans and baby blankets. I was thinking….If one person in every state in the United States sent only one granny square, then we would have 50 additional granny squares for the month of February. Fifty granny squares would help us make 8 baby blankets!!! It may not sound like much to you, but it means a lot to those who are in need of them.

We are looking for 50 volunteers, anywhere in the U.S., who will send us at least ONE granny square each month, to join us in our effort to keep others warm. One granny square is easy and inexpensive to…

View original 198 more words

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “February’s Crochet Challenge

  1. Thelma Schoen

    Ahhh, Brian Tracy. I remember his workshops and recorded sessions; great lessons for life.

    It’s cool that you also crochet. I don’t. My grandmother taught me basics as a child, but couldn’t get the gauge even so I swiftly gave it up. I taught myself to knit as a young adult… but, have never attempted crochet again. HOWEVER, I want to knit fairies and I want their wings made from metallic thread… not normal yarn…. and, the wing patterns are best if they are crocheted.

    It’s great that you do community knitting. I just knit for three generations of my loved ones. So, my needles are always clicking.

    • I don’t even know who Brian Tracy is lol! I really liked they used from him though. I’ll have to look him up.

      Knit Fairies sound nice! I have a story about crochet much like yours. I couldn’t figure something pretty basic out, so I went about knitting and didn’t really look back for a long time. I like them both a lot. Lately I like to crochet more than knitting. I imagine I will continue bouncing around.

  2. Thank you so much for re-blogging our post. I appreciate it so much that I am going to add your site to our blog roll. Thank you for all that you do!

Leave a Reply

