Springtime In Paris

I just participated in my first Ravelry swap.  My cyber friend Melissa has blogged about swaps and I was very interested.  The Itty Bitty Knits group was doing Springtime in Paris themed swap and so I jumped in.  I had to knit the Frenchie Hat from Itty Bitty Nursery and matching booties or Jelly Bean Baby Socks.

When I got my swap partner I was so excited!  Monkeybuttbabies (aka Jessica) and I had been talking online already and discussing meeting up since we live so close.  I was excited to have her as a partner so I could meet someone new I had so much in common with.

The hat and socks knit up really quickly and this was my first time working with Spud and Chloe yarn.   It is fantastic yarn!  But I feel this way about all Blue Sky Alpacas so I wasn’t surprised that I fell in love immediately.  I loved the patterns and I made the socks to match the hat.  I think they make a cute pair, er, trio?

I tried to work out meeting up with her, but I was pressed for time because I have family coming to visit soon (hooray!!). 

I invited her to the bi-monthly knitting group that meets at the LYS.  She didn’t say whether she would be there or not, but I wanted to go anyway.  Oh I had so much fun!  I enjoyed it more that I thought possible and I will be going there from now on!

She wasn’t there (I didn’t expect her to be) so since I was pressed for time, I just delivered the package to her house myself.  I made French bread this morning to include in the package and wanted it to be fresh for her.  I hope it was ok that I just delivered it myself.  Because I didn’t have to ship it I was able to include some fun stuff in it.

I don’t know if what I sent was acceptable.  I had a hard time knowing what to send since previous swaps seemed inconsistent to me.  Some swappers sent more than others and no monetary value was established.  From studying past swaps I figured that a package total of $75 seemed to be the proper amount.  I did my best to include things that she and her family would be interested in.

The package included:

The hat and socks

2 loaves of French Bread

2 patterns (Dindy Beret and French Press Felted Slippers– both themed for the swap)

a skein of Cascade 220 Wool

My favorite coffee (Larry’s Beans…. yum)

Charlie’s Soap (she cloth diapers as well)

A doggie bag gift from my dogs to hers (just some of their treats)

10 stitch markers.  I have been wanting to try jewelery making for some time now and stitch markers have been a perfect place to start.  So easy and satisfying because it’s instantly gratifying.

And finally the whole package was given to her in a market bag.  It seems like this is her favorite part, which is funny since it was an afterthought.  I’m glad I included it! 

Now I can’t wait to receive mine!  I wonder who has me…

3 Comments

Filed under knitting

3 responses to “Springtime In Paris

  1. What a great package! Jessica is very lucky. I think it’s neat you live close and could drop it off. You two definitely need to arrange a meet up soon.

    I think you did a great job pulling everything together. This swap IS harder than other themed ones, I’m having a hard time and not feeling like I am including enough as well.

  2. I agree with Melissa! I think this is a fantastic swap package! You included some fun items and tried to make it personal. 🙂

    I, personally, think the first swap is the hardest because you don’t know what to expect. I’ve found mine have gotten more extravagant as I’ve gone along just because I have more of an idea of what others do. 🙂

    I LOVE that bag! What a lucky lady she is! 🙂 Great job on all the knits. 🙂

  3. Wow! $75 seems steep to me but I have also not taken part in one of those swaps on Ravelry. My knitting through the itty bitty toy book with my regular knitting is taking up too much of my time.
    But That was an amazing package that you put together! What a lucky lady she was to have you as her person.

Leave a Reply

