Solids… actually enjoyable!

Hello Friends!  I’m sort of back from my vacation.  This is going to be a 4 day weekend, so DH and I are going to be enjoying every second together.

I just wanted to write so that it didn’t seem like I fell off the face of the earth, although it feels like I did.

Recently my baby reached a huge milestone- eating solid foods!  I have to admit, I dreaded this. A lot.  I’m not sure why, I suppose because of the baby books I have been reading.  They drill it in your head “no solids until 6 months!  If you start them  early they will have so many health issues” and so on.  Well, he reached 6 months 2 weeks ago and I wasn’t sure what to do. 

I knew he was ready for solids because he showed several signs.  He’s putting EVERYTHING in his mouth, he no longer has his tongue thrust reflex, he sits unsupported and was teething.  Yesterday he got his first tooth!  But mostly his poop changed.  It was still exclusively breatfed poo, but I could just tell his digestive system was ready for something more.  None of my books talked about this as a sign, but I know my baby and something had changed about it.

I started him on rice cereal for the first week.  The next week it was mashed bananas, and this week it’s sweet potatoes.  So far he just loves everything!  After he tried other foods he doesn’t really like the cereal anymore.  I don’t blame him though, it tastes like chalk.

Right now as I type I’m feeding him his sweet potatoes.  He enjoys eating and I enjoy feeding him. I made the potatoes for him, so far I haven’t given him anything from a jar and really don’t want to.  Making the food is fun!

So far the poopy diapers haven’t been a big deal.  I don’t know what I was so worried about.

Anyway, just wanted to say hello to my blogging friends out there.  I hope you all have been well!

4 Comments

Filed under attachment parenting, Breastfeeding, Cloth Diapering, Exercise & Nutrition

4 responses to “Solids… actually enjoyable!

  1. I loved makings Xander’s babyfood. I didn’t want him eating a lot of prcessed or jarred foods and we made it all the way to now with just me making his food. Have fun with this stage!

    • I was the same way with my first. I had let him start ” tasting” food at 3 and a half months. If I was eating a banana I would shave a little off and give it to him and he loved it. If I was eating ice cream or sweet potatoes he got a tiny taste. Needless to say when it came to the 6 month point he loved everything he got to taste. He was mad about all veggies and fruit that was safe. Now my second is almost 4 months and he is getting tastes like his brother did but again I´m waiting to feed him solids until he is 6 months.

  2. Hello!

    Yay, it’s a fun time… O now eats pretty much anything (that isn’t pumkin or carrot or chicken) that he can get his hands on. Only four teeth but he seems to be able to get through pretty much anything.

    Can I suggest you have a look at Gill Rapley’s Baby Led Weaning (though in Austrlia we call weaning when breastmilk / milk is ceased, I think in the UK it just means starting solids)… I haven’t actually bought the book or dvd, but just had a read about the general approach. . And took what I liked and discarded what I didn’t. The gist of it for us is that as O really didn’t enjoy getting spoonfed all that much, we just started to let him play with a whole heap of mushy food right from the start, and then as he got bigger, just gave him whole soft foods (poached pear is still a massive favourite). Made the whole thing (and still does) very easy, as we basically feed him whatever we eat, maybe a bit more cooked and with no salt in his portion. I remember at about 9 months he just started eating whole muffins (that I’d made – very full of wholewheat, wheatgerm and lots of vegetables) and I was just amazed that he could get it all down. A big starter for us was lengths of cucumber – he used to eat out the soft bit and it took him a while to work out that he could bit bits of the skin off. By the time he worked out how to bite off bits of the skin he was proficient enough at feeding himself that he never was in any danger of choking himself etc…

    2 cents which I hope you’ll take in the spirit it was intended. It worked for us, but mightn’t for you and all that!

    ANd O still loves his Boobie, as do I enjoy giving it. It’s a special bond.

    Yay yay yay for both of you!

    -r

Leave a Reply

