30 Days of Sewing

I am not a good seamstress.  I’ve dabbled with sewing a bit, but not enough to really increase my skill level.  Because of my inexperience, I don’t like to sew.  I want to so bad though.  I look at projects other bloggers are posting about and I wish I could do the same.

If there’s anything I’ve learned from the countless, wasted hours of playing “The Sims 2 & 3”, it’s that to increase your skill level, you just have to do it.  Sims aspire to gain skill points, and right now I have an aspiration to be a decent seamstress.

I have made a challenge for myself.  I want to sew everyday for 30 days for 30 minutes a day.  I need to manage my time better, and I really only have 30 minutes in a day I can and want to spend on this goal.  Hopefully it will be enough to accomplish something, and I’m sure doing it for 30 days straight will allow time to finish projects.

Anyone is welcome to join me.  I will be posting about it as much as I can, even though lately I haven’t had much time for blogging.  Well, I’m off to start this challenge now!

11 Comments

Filed under sewing

11 responses to “30 Days of Sewing

  1. I’d love to join you! When you say 30 minutes per day, do you mean actual time at the machine or are you including time spent ironing, measuring, cutting, etc. I find all that takes way more time than sitting at the machine and sewing a few seams! You definitely have to start somewhere to increase your skill level. I think this is a great idea!

  2. Becky

    I think I may have to try and join you on that. I am way behind in my quilting projects. I will see how it goes.

    Becky (gathersnomoss)

  3. That is awesome. I would love to join you in this quest but I have my hands full with 2 kids and knitting though the itty bitty toy book in just one year. I do really want to be a better seamstress though. Maybe when the boys are older.

  4. What a great idea! I’d love to join in on this as well! I’ve made a goal of sewing myself some summer clothes, so this would help keep me motivated and on track. I think I may apply this concept to my knitting too, since I have quite a few projects that need to be finished up.

    Raili
    (Armida21)

    • I’m glad you’re joining me! After 2 days of doing it, it’s not so bad. At the end of 30 minutes I still want to sew, but I have so many other things to get done in a day. It is a small amount of time, but at least it helps me move forward with goals.

  5. Mel

    What a great challenge,
    I set myself the goal of knitting everyday this month to catch up on some projects planned, but this sounds great :0)
    Love Mel x x

  6. Betsy

    I love this idea!!! I’m going to join you on your 30 day mission!!
    Just the other day my DD asked when was the last time I used my sewing machine… I told her at Christmas time!

    Betsy023

    • I’m glad you’re jumping in! I saw you joined the group on Ravelry. Welcome and I hope that you enjoy yourself with this. I know I have so far.

  7. Pingback: Year of Sewing | Pretty Little Knit Stitches

Leave a Reply

