A Special Day

Today was one of those days that was special.  We didn’t do anything too out of the ordinary, but I had so much fun with my baby.

This morning I woke up and we went for a jog.  He got a little scared at the end and started crying, so we walked the rest of the way home with the baby on my hip and pushing the jogging stroller.  He cuddled up really close to me.  It melted my heart.

We went to the morning knitting group at the LYS.  He was so social and wanted to visit with everyone.  He was in such a great mood.  That’s nothing out of the ordinary, this child has the sweetest disposition.  Everyone wanted to hold him and tickle his thunder thighs. 

The conversation ventured into how cute my baby is.  Everyone admitted that he is the cutest baby ever.  I couldn’t believe this!  I was sitting with several grandmothers too.  Of course I think my own child is the cutest baby ever, but to hear other people say it is something that is far beyond flattering.

After everyone left, I picked up some new needles to try.  I browsed through the pattern books and bought “Vintage Baby Knits”.  This book has the sweetest patterns and many woolie patterns too.  It was highly recommended by my new friend.  I smelled all the soaps and let Dylan smell them too.  I think he really enjoyed this.  We of course, had to buy a few bars of them.

We stopped at the Fabric store to pick up a few things for some sewing projects I’m going to be working on.  I was wearing the baby on my front and enjoying the smell of his hair and kissing his head every few minutes.  As we were browsing through the fabric, he started laughing at all the fun patterns. 

He has this new laugh lately that just melts my heart.  It’s a strange little squeal, it’s the cutest noise I’ve ever heard.

After all this, we sat in the air conditioned car and enjoyed each other’s company while he nursed.  He fell asleep in my arms a few minutes later, and then we drove home.

The past week and a half have been hard because he cut 2 teeth about a week apart.  He’s been in pain and it is painful for me to see him this way.  He’s been very clingy and irritable.

Today was special because he’s his pleasant self again. I thought it would be nice to write about it and commit it to memory.  I love this little boy so much.  I am the luckiest mama in the whole world.

1 Comment

Filed under attachment parenting, Babywearing, Breastfeeding, Exercise & Nutrition, knitting, sewing

One response to “A Special Day

Leave a Reply

