Cherries popped.

On Wednesday I finally finished my socks.  I already posted most of what I had to say about them in this post.  So they were my first toe-up, two at a time, magic loop, short row heel, and stretchy sewn bind off.  On top of that it was my first time following a cabling chart and knitting through the back loops.  It was rated as an experienced level pattern. 

The only problem I came across was the error with the pattern in the book, and I had already started them when I realized there was a problem.  I tore them down and started again, but it didn’t bother me.  I wanted them to be perfect.  Additionally every sock I have made so far out of Joy of Sox has an errata, so I’ve made a habit of checking their project pages on Ravelry before casting on.

The yarn was crazy.  I love winding hanks into center-pull balls when I’m really stressed out.  When I got the yarn out to wind it, I found it was a huge tangled mess.  It took me hours to wind it into a ball.  I was quite discouraged and felt that I wouldn’t buy Malabrigo sock again.  After knitting with it though, I have changed my mind about that.  I bought another hank recently and I had an easier time with it.  I suppose it was because I was prepared to work with the tangles.  Truthfully I think it’s unacceptable to charge $22 US for a hank of yarn that you have to untangle, but I guess Malabrigo sock is just that good.

These socks have changed me as a knitter.  I knew I was a sock person before, but now it’s different.  Lately I have been dreaming about socks all night long.  I wake up eager to get to work on them.  Now I’m starting to appreciate them as a work of art.  They are the best type of art as they are so functional.  I consider myself to be a functional person and I rarely do anything that isn’t. 

Socks are the perfect knit for me, and I am so proud of this pair.

11 Comments

Filed under knitting

11 responses to “Cherries popped.

  1. Those socks are beautiful!
    I’ve made three pairs of sock and two pairs of mittens. The only thing I don’t like anout knitting scoks and mittens is that when I get one finished, I still have another one to knit!
    My daughter has twin girls so now I have a similar challenge knitting for them, too!

  2. These are just so beautiful! 🙂

  3. Wow! I LOVE those sox! The yarn looks super yummy. Now I´m going to have to make them and pop my cherry with 2 at a time toe up magic loop.

  4. Wow these are really beautiful! I never knew socks could be so pretty! Great job!

  5. Absolutely gorgeous! Love them!

  6. paula

    these are beautiful socks!!!

  7. Pingback: Friday Favorites II « Pretty Little Knit Stitches

Leave a Reply

