WIP Wednesday: Plain Socks and a Crinkly Tag Toy

It’s been a while since I blogged last.  Real life has been taking my time, I suppose it’s bound to happen every now and then.

This week I found out the Ravelympic team Itty Bitty Knitties are rising again for Tour de Fleece.  Tour de Fleece was originally an event for spinners to work on their projects during the Tour de France cycling competition.  Team Itty Bitty Knitties is using it to work on our knitting, crocheting, spinning, sewing, weaving, or just about anything that needs any extra motivation.

Honestly I don’t need any motivation, I’m always obsessively knitting.  I wanted to participate so I can chat with my friends in the group.  I’ve made a goal to finish both this months socks during the Tour de Fleece, July 3rd-24th. 

My husbands socks this month are just flying off the needles.  Last month his simple ribbed socks took forever and it was a really easy pattern.  I have to admit, I was quite discouraged because there are a million other things I would also like to knit.  I still can’t put my finger on what took me so long.  I’m thinking it was the Harmony wood circulars.  They were too sticky for sock knitting.  This past weekend I bought several sizes of Addi Turbos in 40″ circular.  I can’t tell you all how much I love them.  They are perfect for magic loop 2 at a time. 

So this pair is the Gentleman’s Plain Winter Sock with Dutch Heel by Nancy Bush, from her book, Knitting Vintage Socks.  Another reason they are going so quickly is because they are mostly just stockinette stitch, but the ribbing was a breeze as well.  Surprisingly this pattern is not boring me one bit.  I turned the heel this morning and it was unlike any other heel I have turned before.  I think I will finish them tomorrow, and I just started working on them Saturday.  How exciting!

This past weekend was a 4 day weekend for my husband.  We had a lot of fun together.  It stormed so we stayed inside and the baby was cutting tooth #4.  I think we got a bit stir crazy because we decided to reorganize the house.  In the middle of that, my husband decided he was going to start a gun case for one of his many guns.  He sketched out the design he wanted, and together we worked on it.  The house reorganization came to a screeching halt.  So today I’ve been trying to clean the house up the rest of the way.

Also today I started a simple little sewing project.  It’s a crinkly tag toy for Dylan.   It took me 45 min from start to finish including the time I spent looking for a little iron on applique.  I decided not to use it anyway. 

So the toy is crinkly because I put the inside wrapper of a cereal box inside.  He loves it!  He keeps smashing it and rubbing the ribbon loops.  I should have made it earlier, I hope he doesn’t outgrow it too soon. 

I guess that’s not a WIP, but I still wanted to show it off.  It was a WIP earlier today.

My 30 days of sewing is almost up.  Today I finished with day 28, I can’t believe how fast it went.  More to come about it later.

4 Comments

Filed under knitting, sewing

4 responses to “WIP Wednesday: Plain Socks and a Crinkly Tag Toy

  1. I love your chubby little guy. I wish it was so cute to be chubby when you are my age hahahaha. M hasn’t really gotten to that chubby stage. O did when he was little. But I also never let O get hungry but M has to tell me that he is hungry to get fed. There is just too much going on to feed him all the time heheheh. Poor kid.

  2. Oh and I’m going to have to make one of those tag toys for M. He would LOVE it.

  3. That toy is BRILLIANT. I am going to make one for Gracie as soon as I find something crinkly to use.

  4. Pingback: Through The Looking Glass » Blog Archive » I made this.

Leave a Reply

