Committing to a Vegan diet and other goals

I’ve had a rough few weeks, but now I can say that I’m back!  Life’s back to its regular routine.  I am making some changes though, so I thought I would blog about them.

First of all, I am committing to a Vegan diet.  Indefinitely.  I know there are times when I need to be flexible, but I want to be vegan.  Here are a few reasons why I love it so much:

1. I am actively choosing compassion over killing

2. I feel GREAT when I don’t consume animal products, especially dairy and eggs

3. I don’t have to worry about weight management

4. It makes me happy.

I am undecided about what to do about the animal fiber dilemma.  I’m very torn.  I’m going to work through my stash and then decide later.  For now, I already have it so I might as well use it.  So if I can’t use the word vegan to define myself, I’m going to call myself a herbivore.

Last night I made rice and almond milks, fresh wheat bread, and slow cooked some garbanzos overnight.  I’m very excited that things are going all the way back to the way they were, like when I was vegan the first time.

I need to finish my socks this week.  I had a very difficult time knitting when we had company for the past two weeks.  I’m happy to work on them again.

I’m starting on Day 1 for the 30 Days of Sewing again.  Sewing also makes me very happy, and I just love setting time aside daily to work on it.  It is very fulfilling, and visiting in the Ravelry group is so much fun.  There are so many fun women there and it’s encouraging to talk to them, work through problems, and share our sewing projects.  The group really keeps me going.

I’m going to try really hard to incorporate sign language into the baby’s routine.  We’ve been working on it for a week, and he is responding really well to it.  I feel like he’s understanding what I’m trying to say to him.  I know the key with signing is consistency, so I’ll do my best. 

I know that was very random, but I just wanted to share my thoughts.  I hope everyone has been well.

1 Comment

Filed under Exercise & Nutrition, Janelle's Jibberish, knitting, Meatless Monday, sewing

One response to “Committing to a Vegan diet and other goals

  1. sounds good!

    I applaude the signing. And I wouldn’t stress about being consistent either, I was at the beginning but then didn’t see any signs from O so became a bit more haphazard. When he did his first one back to us, I picked it up a notch though, and now he can do about 20 or more, the whole family, friends, everyone you see is into it and helps because it is so inspiring to watch!

    Enjoy…

    And vegan on.

    I’m still a pescetarian though I have to admit I cooked a sausage the other day for my little boy when he went for the blood test. First time I’ve cooked meat in, oh, about 15 years at least….

Leave a Reply

