Trying to get out of this rut

Between a baby with the flu and teething, my life has been absolutely revovling around this child.  My house is a diseaster, the laundry is piled high, I have not been knitting or sewing, and it’s been at least a week since I last cooked a meal.

Because I haven’t been cooking, I haven’t been eating well.  We’ve been eating out more than I would like, and my fridge is not stocked with the usual goodies.  Because of these two issues, I haven’t been sticking to my vegan diet.  That’s right, I’ve been eating cheese (gasp, I know).

His crying and whining has made me depressed and feeling like I’m failing at everything.  I need to shake this and get on with life.  I’ve re-evaluated my priorities and goals.  I have a new plan, hopefully one that will work.

I want to lose about 10 more pounds.  Unfortunately I’ve plateaued for about 3 months, so I need to change things up a bit and work even harder.  I’ve added a spin class to my schedule and been doing push-ups and sit-ups throughout the day.

Mostly my diet needs cleaning up.  A vegan diet needs to be well planned and diverse if one is going to thrive eating this way.  I need to plan better, keep foods ready to eat because sometimes I just get too hungry or busy to cook.  I’ve decided to make a personal chef day once a week.

Once upon a time I was planning to make a career of personal cheffing, so luckily I have a good idea about what needs to be done.  Basically I will plan all my meals for a week, make as many ahead of time as I can and keep them in the freezer and fridge for easy meals.  If I dedicate one day a week to doing this, I think the rest of my week will be pretty easy as far as the food situation is concerned.

Luckily the baby is feeling better today and I hope it continues.  I find myself getting a little depressed and missing his usual happy self.  I know I can handle him better if I’m taking care of myself too.  

Motherhood is so hard sometimes.

1 Comment

Filed under attachment parenting, Exercise & Nutrition

One response to “Trying to get out of this rut

  1. Eliana

    I’m sorry you’re dealing with all this.
    I can’t say understand what you’re going through with your baby, since I don’t have children yet, but I do understand eating junk food, and trying to stay healthy and lose weight.

    I’m trying to lose weight myself. I don’t like going to the gym to use their machines, I feel like it’s a pick up joint, so my man and I only go there to play squash which is a great Aerobics work out, but I also need to get toned, so I’ve been wondering if there’s anything I can do at home, so this week, I decided to try Pilates! I have Netflix, and a Wii. So I insert the netflix dvd in my wii system, and watch pilates videos through my instant queue. So far I’ve only done it once this week, but it’s only because I injured my knee playing Squash, but I am doing my second pilates workout today, and I am looking forward to it! I feel my muscles working big time! Maybe you should try it, and see how you like it 🙂

    ~ Eliana ~

Leave a Reply

