Cricket Pullover

I finally finished Dylan’s Dewey Cabled Pullover.  It took me a long time, much longer than I had hoped.  The reason is not the sweater pattern, but my choice of yarn. 

There’s been a lot of hype about Spud and Chloe yarn.  Certain people say it’s the best ever.  I tried the Sweater weight and it was fine.  Not my favorite yarn, but I really liked it.  I was so excited to try the Fine weight since I’ve been knitting socks so much lately.

I ordered the closest color to my husband’s military uniform.  When I got it, it looked like a springtime field of grass, not and antique olive color.  He needs the antique olive color to match, so I was disappointed.  Spud and Chloe is not inexpensive either.  Really wanting to try this yarn, I decided to make a pattern out of Vintage Baby Knits calling for fingering weight.

I hated the yarn!  It felt like it was tearing my hands up and I’m not a sensitive knitter!  It took me more than a month to knit this baby sweater.  Granted I had a whole lot of other stuff going on, but I just couldn’t sit down and knit with it.  I was SO MAD!  I shouldn’t get so emotional over yarn, but I’m a yarnie.  I do that.  Sometimes yarn turns me on, sometimes it makes me want to stab needles in my eyes.  Spud and Chloe Fine was more of a needle-in-the-eyes type of yarn.

Turns out I was being a bit too harsh.  Once the sweater was finally off the needles, it needed to be blocked before seaming.  Once it was dry it looked perfect.  Another thing I hated about the yarn was the obvious stitch definition, it showed every single imperfection.  Luckily it all blocked out and the little sweater had a perfect drape to it.  I am very happy with the finished object, especially now that it’s finished.

So will I ever buy Spud and Chloe Fine again?  Hell no!  But I’m glad I gave it a shot.

I named the sweater Cricket because that was the name of the color of the yarn.  I’m baised, but I think this little model is the cutest, sweetest model ever. 

4 Comments

Filed under knitting

4 responses to “Cricket Pullover

  1. I’m working on a project with Sweater and I really really really love it. I’m so bummed to hear that Fine doesn’t live up!

    • This is just my opinion. Based on the comments on Ravelry, people either absolutely loved it or hated it. It think it’s definitely worth a try, especially if you love Sweater so much.

  2. I just love this sweater, and it looks so great with Dylan’s hair color! 🙂

    I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews about S&C – both in Sweater and in Fine – either love or hate like you mentioned. I’ve experienced both sides of the coin with sweater. My first skein I was disappointed in the yarn, couldn’t figure out what all the hype was about. I decided to try it again, and loved how soft it was. For me, I’ve found it depends on what color I’m knitting with. Weird. Glad you like the finished product – and it’s nice to see an honest review of a highly promoted yarn.

  3. Despite the trouble with the yarn, this sweater is adorable! It looks amazing – if I didn’t know better, I’d think you’d bought it somewhere!

Leave a Reply

