Thank you Melissabear!

Yesterday’s blog post left me feeling quite drained.  I generally avoid confrontation and rarely engage in arguments.  However, there are some things I feel too strongly about to just ignore.  I suppose all of us have opinions that we are too passionate about. 

After I got off the internet yesterday the doorbell rang.  I opened the door and a package was lying there.  I opened it, and it was from my friend Melissa at Knitting a Baby.

Melissa and I have been friends for several months now, corresponding through blogs and Ravelry.  I feel we have become very close and an opportunity came up that I was going to be able to meet her… in person!  I was so excited, planning and researching what we could do together in the area.  About a week before the trip, my husband became very ill with pneumonia.  We weren’t able to make the drive to meet her.  I was severely disappointed.

Melissa had made Dylan a special present, which was what was in the package I received yesterday.  It is the cutest patchwork elephant.  She sewed it out of recycled felted sweaters.  We are both in love with this sweet present.  I just want to share it with everyone and to thank my dear friend for being so kind. 

Dylan especially loves the elephant’s tail. 

I love the elephant because to me, it represents kindness, selflessness, and that positive energy can go a long way.  There is good in the world, and I am lucky enough to have great friends.

2 Comments

Filed under sewing

2 responses to “Thank you Melissabear!

  1. Thanks for sharing my elephant with your blog readers. Dylan looks very happy with him, I’m glad you know you have great friends! I am lucky to count myself as one of yours!

  2. That elephant is SO CUTE! And so perfectly timed. 🙂

    Just thought I’d catch you here as well – thanks for stoppying by my blog today. Feel free to steal the Friday idea! I’ve been wanting to do something like this for awhile since I love seeing it every week on other people’s blogs. 🙂

    Have a fantastic weekend!

Leave a Reply

