Friday Favorites

My friend Rae Lynne at Drip Drip Drop does a weekly blog post about her favorite things on Friday.  I really liked the idea because it could incorporate anything favorite- knitting, sewing, food, photos, movies, the list could go on and on.

First of all I would like to share two sock patterns I’ve been obsessing over.  The first is Destin by Carson Allen.  I want to knit this in memory of our summer here.  We live so close to Destin and go there every weekend.  Spending time on the beaches, shopping, eating out, even rented a boat with my parents and saw the waterfront side of Destin.  It’s been an amazing summer and while I’m excited to move at the end of the year, I will always treasure the memories made here.

Photo by Carson Allen

The next sock pattern I have been in love with is from the Fall issue of Interweave Knits.  It’s the Alpen Socken by Judy Alexander.  I have a recent obsession with cables, and this looks like a really fun knit (Sorry no pic- the one on Ravelry is just a scanned pic of the magazine and is very low quality).

My favorite Ravelry friend project is Gathersnomoss’  Adam’s Dinosoar Hat.  I love the colors she used, and the picture of her son is just adorable. 

I watch a lot of movies while knitting.  My favorite this week was Children of Men.  While the CGI baby was a little creepy, the story line was great and it was a great movie both my husband and I could appreciate.

I guess that’s all for today.  I’m not sure how this Friday Favorites is going to go, but today I had a lot of fun with it.

2 Comments

Filed under friday favorites, knitting

2 responses to “Friday Favorites

  1. Love your favorites! Those socks are beautiful. 🙂

  2. Sara from Unwind

    I had to stop and gasp as I scrolled through your blog. The Destin socks were designed by my cousin, and her father was my very favorite of all my uncles. I have a special ball of sock yarn waiting for when I’m ready to knit them…

Leave a Reply

