Friday Favorites IV

Today I’m going to talk about my latest obsession- shawls. 

In my opinion, shawls are so beautiful.  Usually knit with lace or sock weight yarn on larger needles with a lace sequence.  The larger needles and the lace create an airy, yet warm texture.  Here are a few of my favorite designs.

My most favorite is Ishbel by Ysolda Teague

Photo By Ysolda Teague

This pattern even has a matching Beret

Photo by Ysolda Teague

Ysolda Teague, for now anyway, is my favorite designer.  She’s only 25 and her designs are absolutely amazing.  I was listening to some older episodes of Never Not Knitting, and she was talking about her almost unhealthy obsession with Ysolda’s designs.  I feel the exact same way!  They are just breathtaking!

Another Favorite: Traveling Woman by Liz Abinante.  This calls for Malabrigo Sock, which is my favorite sock weight yarn.

Photo by Feministy on Flikr

This week one of my friends, raelynne01 on Ravelry and blogger at Drip Drip Drop, finished her first Shawl.  I think it is simply amazing.  She did a wonderful job knitting it. 

 

Photo by Rae Lynne Chase

I have yet to knit my first shawl.  I am going to start it soon, I’ve chosen the pattern and have the yarn.  I’m very excited about it.  Shawls are so beautiful.  And, in my opinion, a test of knitting skills and patience. 

There are so many other shawl patterns I want to talk about, but these are my most favorite. 

This week my husband and I bought an album on Amazon.  It’s called Dragonfly Races by Ellis Paul.  Since having a baby, we’ve discovered children’s music and much to our surprise, we really enjoy it. 

1 Comment

Filed under friday favorites, knitting

One response to “Friday Favorites IV

  1. Rae Lynne

    Thanks for the shawl love! 🙂 Traveling Woman is the other shawl I’ve got on the needles and, as you know, I too love Ysolda Teague! 🙂

Leave a Reply

