Halloween Recap

We had a really fun Halloween.  Saturday we went birthday shopping for our son’s first birthday, had a good dinner at our favorite resturaunt, and had a photoshoot on the beach (more about that later.)  It was warm, pleasant and just the perfect weekend.  We didn’t get any trick or treaters though, we never do. 

Since Halloween is my favorite holiday, I felt a lot of pressure to make my son’s first Halloween very special.  I knew I wanted to make him a costume.  I started working on it in September, but due to crazy life events, it took me more than a month to finish it.  My husband had to help me the day before Halloween so that we could finish in time. 

Despite the fact that it took me so long, it was a very easy project.  I love the way it turned out.  He only ended up wearing it for the photos because it was over 80 degrees this weekend.

We found the perfect dog costume at Target.  We call this dog Cahrbuncle Charbronco (really long stupid story) so we thought it was fitting.  The pics didn’t turn out well, a blind dog in a costume gets agitated easily.

I finished the Skull Isle longies too.  They turned out pretty good for my first fair isle project.  I did have a hard time with the tension so it puckers a little in the colorwork areas.  Still, I’m happy with them.  He looks really cute in the pants.

At the first of October I made the Lil Pumpkin hat from Itty Bitty Hats.  Little D doesn’t like wearing it, but I like him to.  He is so cute in it.  The hat is so adorable, I am just in love with the pattern. 

We had a party at our house.  We had soup and beer batter bread, with apple cider to drink; our long standing Halloween tradition.  We had our friends over and it was a really fun night.  I just love Halloween!

6 Comments

Filed under knitting, sewing

6 responses to “Halloween Recap

  1. Nat

    Oh my goodness! Little D is freaking adorable in his costume and hat! Good job on the costumes, the hat, the pants and everything else. It looks like fun!

    Happy Halloween!

    P.S. I’m following you now! 🙂

  2. gorgeous! wonderful work, as usual.

    I love the pumpkin beanie!

  3. melanie

    I can’t believe you sewed that costume! He makes such a cute monkey! Also, I love the skull pants! Adorable! And the hat! I could go on and on! You are incredible! Nice work! It sounds like your halloween was excellent!

  4. jeff

    Awesome costume. I’ll send some of baby L soon.

  5. Hi there, I found you via Sewing Circle. I love the longies, and just wanted to offer some advice, if I may?
    I can? Good. Here goes – if you just use a larger size needle when doing the fair isle, it will help with the puckering. Most of us tighten up a bit when doing the colourwork. Good luck, these look great! x

Leave a Reply

