The Emerald Coast Shawlette

I’m not sure what it was about this pattern, but something in my mind couldn’t let it go.  I HAD to knit it.  It was on my mind constantly, I even dreamed about it.  It was the Cedar Leaf Shawlette by Alana Dakos (Never Not Knitting).  Obviously I wasn’t alone in this crazy obsession, it has over 625 projects on Ravelry and it’s only been out for one year.

Part of the reason for my obsession with this pattern was due to some yarn I have stashed.  My husband bought some Knit Picks Elegance in the color Jade, hoping I would make some socks for him.  After the purchase, we found out that it’s not great to make socks with Baby Alpaca, so he told me I could just make what I wanted with it. 

Knowing it was for me, I would sneak into my yarn closet and squish it, imagining the possibilites.  It was dark green and I didn’t know what to make with the color.  That’s why when I found this pattern, I was so possessed with it.

When I started knitting it, I couldn’t stop.  I loved the feel of the baby alpaca/ silk yarn gliding across my fingers.  I loved how large the shawlette quickly became and the way it felt in my lap.  I flew through the leaf border.  It was bittersweet knowing the knitting would end soon, but I couldn’t stop.  I blocked it ever so carefully.  When it was finished, I draped it on my shoulders and felt warmth and indulgent softness like I’ve never known.

This was something special.  I knew the photo shoot also had to be something special.  I felt the dark green was more of and emerald than a jade (what color is jade anyway??).  Right now we’re living on Florida’s Emeral Coast, so in celebration of this area we did our photoshoot on the beach. 

I even bought a new dress just for this photoshoot.  Perfect dress, perfect weather, perfect finished object! 

I was so happy with the pictures.  They really represented the shawlette well.  Even Alana Dakos liked my pictures!  She asked to feature the first one on the Ravelry project page.  I was very flattered knowing she liked my shawlette too.

6 Comments

Filed under knitting

6 responses to “The Emerald Coast Shawlette

  1. Rae Lynne

    How neat that Alana asked to feature your photo! 🙂 I love that yarn, I made my Reading Mitts with Elegance in the same Jade colorway. It’s beautiful, isn’t it? And even better when in the sun! 🙂

  2. Sauceyjill

    You made a beautiful shawl! I love the photo shoot too! Nice!!!

  3. Nat

    I love it! It is beautiful, so are you, and so are the pictures. I love your hair. That style looks great on you. Is it natural curl? Mine got curlier with every pregnancy I’ve had. Well, if you want to knit another shawlette, I would love one! 😉 You make me want to learn how to knit.

    Yes, I am still sewing. I am working on a “Levi” quilt for my oldest. Silly, huh?! The next project on the list is Christmas pajamas for my whole fam.

  4. melanie

    super cute! you amaze me with your skills. and i must say, your gym time has definitely paid off (i’ll have to get some tips from you 🙂 you’re looking fabulous!

  5. Beautiful shawl on a beautiful woman at a beautiful beach!! 🙂

  6. what a lovely garment – I’ve never heard of a shawlette, but I can see how it got its name.

    Stunning photos, you’re so photgenic:-)

    I recently finished a cardigan in one of those fluffy yarns, but looked like an elephant in it, so I unpicked it and so far it’s a hat and scarf set, with lots left over for charity knitting!!!!

Leave a Reply

