Friday Favorites: 2010

Tonight is the end of 2010.  I love New Years, but I find it to be bittersweet.  Another year down, as always, but sometimes it’s hard to say goodbye. 2010 was one of the best years of my life.

On New Years Day last year, I was mother to a 7 week old baby.  I was surviving through colicky nights and frequent nursings. Then there was the unknown of my husband’s upcoming training/ career change and all the change that would accompany that.

This New Years Eve, I’m mother to a 13 1/2 month old toddler who now gets around by walking.  He still nurses, but not anything compared to what he used to.  Now we are settled after all the change that has accompanied my husband’s successfully completed training/ career change.

Here’s some stuff my family has done in the past year:

My husband graduated EOD school (that’s such a big deal!)

Made new friends and said goodbye to friends, both new and old

Our family has moved twice

Road Tripped approximately 3383 miles of United States highway

Made it through our first childs first year and ALL the milestones that have come with that

Celebrated our baby’s first birthday

Found our love of sewing

We bought 3 sewing machines

Changed approximately  2920 diapers

Washed approximately 2820 diapers

My husband got 2 new tattoos (now he has 2!)

I knit 9 hats, 8 pairs of socks, 7 pairs of soakers and longies, 3 toys, 5 headbands, 3 dishcloths, 3 bags, my shawlette, a colorwork holiday stocking,  one adult sweater, one toddler sweater with another currently on the needles.

And that’s just the big stuff! 

2010 was filled with so many adventures!  Most of my years are not this action-packed, but some have been.  Still, it’s definitely been the most eventful year of my life.  I’ve enjoyed it very much, even the not-so-great moments.  I’m so happy looking back at it.  Thank you, 2010 for bringing me a year of life that I will never forget. 

I am excitedly welcoming 2011 with open arms.  I have big plans and big dreams, and I hope I can pursue them and have another adventurous year.

4 Comments

Filed under Breastfeeding, Cloth Diapering, friday favorites, knitting, sewing

4 responses to “Friday Favorites: 2010

  1. Nat

    You forgot about those ADORABLE little booties you knitted for R! 🙂

    I’m glad 2010 was good to you. It was one of my favorite years, too!

  2. Libby

    Hi Janelle! 2010 was such a great year! Jesse and I really miss you guys, no one will ever be able to take the place of your friendship.

Leave a Reply

