The Devil’s in the Details

I made a pot of chili for a superbowl party this weekend, the recipe having the same name as this post.  I laughed out loud about the Devil being in the details, and it got me thinking.  (Oh yeah, it was super awesome Chili. Thanks Robin Robertson, for another amaaaaazing chili recipe!)

Whether someone believes in the Devil or not, I think everyone can agree that the Devil represents self-indulgence, selfishness, addictions, ect.  The reason I laughed at the phrase is because the details are my self-indulgence and addiction.  What am I talking about?  Well, knitting of course!

I’m addicted to patterns featuring intricate details; cables, lace and colorwork.  I self-indulge in this type of knitting.  It makes me….feel a bit selfish.

Here’s some detail knitting I’ve been doing lately (well, in the past 3 months):

I had fun with this post and I don’t really think knitting is the devil.  🙂

5 Comments

Filed under knitting

5 responses to “The Devil’s in the Details

  1. Eliana Bahri

    Nah, I don’t think knitting is the devil either.
    All your projects look amazing as always! You’re a very talented knitter.
    And the fail Isle stockings too? WOW! That’s one technique I’m dying to try soon! Those hats look so beautiful, I’m a huge fan of cables and lace too, intricate details always call out to me.
    Is that you in both pictures? Short, and long hair! I like the look of the long hair on you (assuming, it is you, hehe) but then again, I’ve always been a huge fan of long hair. And the ocean looks breathtaking! Can’t wait to live near the ocean one day!
    Can’t wait to see what else you’re working on!

    Eliana

    • Thank you Elly!! It’s not me in both of the hat pictures. I’m wearing the brown hat, and my friend is in the blue with the ocean. Living near the ocean was amazing, I am missing it and my friend terribly right now.

      Thanks again for the comment!

  2. Nat

    Wow! I love, love, love all of them! good job! Knitting is not the devil!

  3. you like cables, don’t you? I do too.

  4. Libby

    I love my hat Janelle! I still remember that day when we went to the beach and it was so chilly! I miss it.

Leave a Reply

