WIP Wednesday 2/23

Lately I’ve had a lot of gift knitting going on.  After getting those projects off the needles, I made a new goal.

I’ve been gradually touring my new Local Yarn Shops and collecting a skein or two of random yarns.  My stash has grown considerably, and I think it’s time to declare Yarn Diet.  That means I’m not going to be buying new yarn, but using what I currently have residing in my yarn closet.

My first stash busting project is one that I’ve had in my mental queue for more than a year and a half.  It’s Beer Gloves by Kurt Fausett.  I really like this pattern and they are knitting up quickly.  I think I’ll finish the second glove tonight!  My husband is very excited about them, and I keep catching him wearing the lonely first glove in anticipation for the pair.  I have been too.

 

My only problem with the pattern is the instructions for the thumb.  I read and re-read the instructions.  After a while, it finally dawned on me that it’s an afterthought thumb.  Then again, the Stitch ‘N Bitch patterns are frequently full of errata and poorly worded.  I just think it should have said what it meant and I would have been spared a few minutes of frustration.  Ah, well.  I still love the gloves.

I have included a pic of the thumb stitches being held on waste yarn, just for reference.  I really like afterthought things for many reasons.  I  have been thinking of ways to incorporate this technique into my knitting to prevent seaming.  I’m thinking toys would be much simpler!

Leave a comment

Filed under knitting

Leave a Reply

