Astrology as Therapy

I can be obsessive. Right now, I’m obsessed with Astrology. It’s answering so many questions and putting together so many pieces to help me see the big picture of the relationships in my life. Unfortunately my unrelenting nature, I fear, is driving those closest to me to insanity. But I can’t not talk about it. So, if you’re interested, read on. If not that’s fine too. Hopefully this will provide a break to those I have been talking at most.

I became very interested in Astrology last year when a couple of friends were talking about their compatiblilty with their spouses and children. “I DO NOT get along with Scorpio!” One friend said. “They push all my buttons.” I knew that both of my children were Scorpios and they can be really intense and unrelenting, but they are sweet, charming, warm, loving and wonderful at the same time. I decided to look into this more.

I soon learned all the profiles of the astrological signs and was able to categorize all the people in my life into their signs. It was pretty amazing. I found out why all these people were the way they were and why they do the things they do. It just made sense and was extremely accurate.

After a while though, I would look at three Gemini’s together and compare them. They were so very different. One was an all out bully, another was a manipulator and another was so painfully shy I don’t believe I’ve had more than a few conversations with them in person.

When I would get talking with people about astrology, they would ask my sign. If I just recently met them, they would not see Taurus in me at all. That was confusing to me because I can be so very Tauraen.

I found out, in a very weird way, that there’s an entire chart that determines a person’s personality. There are so many stars and planets in the sky that can have an influence. There are 3 basic star signs that each person has that determines the outline of their overall personality. Once I finally figured out what this meant exactly, everything clicked. It was a huge Aha! moment.

A sun sign is your basic personailty. A moon sign is your emotional self, your unconscious, deepest self. An ascendant is your outer shell that you project to the world, sort of the mask you hide behind. This is what people see as a first impression. The fit together with the ascendant as the outer shell, the sun sign within that shell, and the moon sign inside the sun sign. In many ways the moon sign is the most important as it is your deepest nature.

I’m a solar Taurus, a lunar Pisces and an Aries ascendant. It’s an odd combination but it really makes sense to me. My moon sign is the most dominant and that’s why when I read the description of Pisces all I could think is, “that’s SO me!”.

I’m highly emotional and sensitive. I’m shy and soft spoken. The only way I can confidently communicate my thoughts to you is by writing. I’ve been told basically by everyone that I’m a different person in my writing. That’s because I’m too shy and withdrawn to let everyone know what’s on my mind.

I love solitude. I’m a loner. If I start feeling overly sensitive and insecure I hide away. I stop going out to group activities, stop interacting online and my blog is silent. If there are months where I don’t write, it’s because I’m recharging in solitude.

I am very intrigued by this 3 dominant star signs knowledge. I’ve looked up so many birthdays because I’ve had so many unanswerable questions about the realtionships in my life. Why do I love this person when our sun signs are completely incompatible? Why am I supposedly compatible with a person but we can’t even be in the same room together? I look these people up, find their moon signs and suddenly it clicks. It might be a huge violation of your privacy, but chances are if I know your birthday and birth year, I’ve looked your lunar sign up and deeply contemplated the mechanics of our relationship. And it just makes sense. It is by far, the most helpful and effective form of therapy to me.

As a lunar Pisces, naturally I’ve attraced a lot of bullies. My soft spoken, gentle, passive personality seems to attract the big personalities as they seem to find that they can use me for personal gain. There are several people in my life who have been my biggest bullies. They all have something HUGE in common: They all have Aries as their moon sign!

I looked up the compatiblity of lunar Aries and lunar Pisces and this is what I found:
“It can be very difficult for Aries Moon not to dominate Pisces Moon. Their passivity and unfocused sense of personal direction makes it so easy for Aries to just ride right over them. If they make this pairing work, it is usually Pisces who compromises and ends up feeling unloved and unsupported,… two things they need desperately. This is a very difficult relationship to make last without irreparable damage.”

These relationships have a pattern. They see me as being passive and generous, take what they want and I tolerate it for a while. Then suddenly, patient Taurus loses patience and puts up a massive fight. These Aries Moons respond with a firey temper and it ends very poorly. Irreparable damage.

It’s a funny thing though. I have Aries as my ascendant so I also have a little fire in my nature. I can be bold and I can fight. When I think of the solar Aries personalities in my life, I smile. I love them dearly. They are playful, fun, uplifting. So why is it that I absolutely can’t tolerate a lunar Aries?

I’m not saying that what’s written in the stars is an abslolute. Obviosuly there’s free will involved. Free will and individuality. What I am saying is that knowing this is so helpful. Helpful to this lunar Pisces who gets hurt so easily and can’t let go of the past to do just that. Let it go. They are just acting on their nature as I am acting on mine.

Thanks for reading my obsessive rambling. 🙂 Has knowing astrology helped you in your life?

Oh, and if you want to look up your signs here’s some websites to do that:
http://www.alwaysastrology.com/index.html
http://astro.cafeastrology.com/cgi-bin/astro/natal

Leave a comment

Filed under Janelle's Jibberish

Leave a Reply

