December Crochet

I’m not sure why, but crochet has been really appealing to me lately.  I go through phases with knitting and crochet, but usually just stick to knitting because it’s easier for me.

I have had issues with something ridiculous in crochet, and that’s turning chains.  I didn’t really understand them, what they are for, how to count stitches with them added.  The problem is that it can be different from pattern to pattern.  Having not enough experience to know that, I frogged many a crochet project.  I always stuck to amigurumi toys because they do not involve join and chain business.

I found a hat pattern that worded the instructions so well that I was able to finally figure it out.  And so, as it happens so often, I got a high from overcoming a problem.  I made a hat in 45 minutes!  It takes hours, sometimes days, to knit a hat.  And I made more, enough for both kids, my husband, and for two dolls.  Yay!

I also did a lot of Amigurumi this month.  I made some Christmas tree ornaments and each of my kids a new squishy toy for a gift. 

My brother and sister in law are going to be having a baby in about a month.  Over the past few days, I have been working nonstop on a granny square blanket for them.  It’s one big granny square.  I fell in love with the concept of the granny sqaure long ago, but to just continue and continue until you have a blanket was not something I had thought to do.  I am in love with this pattern!

I worked really hard and put a lot of time into it, but nowhere near what I would have spent knitting a baby blanket.  I finished the border yesterday and weaved in all the ends. I put it in the washer on cold delicate cycle to block it.  When I took it out, I was met with every yarn worker’s worst nightmare.  It had come unraveled where I had changed colors!  Oh the horror!  Really, it was horrifying.

I managed to fix all the holes and I learned a difficult lesson.  Weaving in ends in knit and crochet projects are very different.  I shall remember this from now on.

So, to make me feel better, my husband ordered me some new crochet hooks.  I have been wanting new hooks for years, but didn’t know what to get.  It seems that in the yarn worker’s market, knitting rules.  You can buy some awesome needles, but for hooks, you kind of have to just go to the big box craft stores.  Those have been fine, but to go from knitting on Addi Turbos to crocheting with Boye or Susan Bates… I just felt like they were cheap.

Clover somewhat recently came out with a new line of crochet hooks.  They’re called Amour and they are getting rave reviews on the crochet groups on Ravelry.  So my love bought me some.  Because he’s awesome.

When I get them I’ll let you all know what I think.  Since I know you are all on the edge of your seats wondering what I think of something… oh blogging.

I hope you all had a Happy Hanukkah, Christmas, and I hope you will have a Happy New Year!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

